Tag FLAC and MP3 Album At Once

Main discussion forum
manicjonah

Tag FLAC and MP3 Album At Once

Post by manicjonah »

I ripped all of my CDs to FLAC and MP3 years ago. I want to re-tag them all and am interested in knowing if I can tag both copies (FLAC and MP3) at one time.

I'm new to the Godfather and not very familiar with it so please be detailed in your description of what I need to do.

Thanks,

MJ

jtclipper
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Tag FLAC and MP3 Album At Once

Post by jtclipper »

Depends on what how you want to tag them, do you want for example to use an Online source?

manicjonah

Post by manicjonah »

Absolutely going to use an Online source, yes!

jtclipper
Administrator
Administrator

Post by jtclipper »

All you have to do then is use the format filter (directly under the folder tree).
Select .mp3 and update your files then select .flac and do the update again, you only need to retrieve the album info from the online source once.

manicjonah

Post by manicjonah »

Thanks for the reply. This is good news. One more question - my MP3's and FLAC ablums are in separate folders, will the filter still apply then? If not, will the online information hold while I switch folders (from Album A in MP3s to Album A in FLAC?)

Thanks again,

MJ

jtclipper
Administrator
Administrator

Post by jtclipper »

Yes the info grabbed from the online source will be there when you switch to the other folder

tristibiter

Post by tristibiter »

New member for second time... Hi everyone

So what happens if you have a bunch of albums (mp3 files) taged from AMG online, and want to copy all info to fresh ripped FLAC files (but not in online mode)?

jtclipper
Administrator
Administrator

Post by jtclipper »

You can use the Copy/paste tags functionality.

Select an mp3 file right click and select 'Copy tag' press F6 to switch to row mode highlight your FLAC files then click 'Paste tag', make sure to paste all fields except for track, title, composer and possibly artist.